THE ARROW HUNTER

Have you ever wondered what goes through a man’s (both gender) mind before they call it quits with school? Campus for this matter. Your folks enrolled you in a private university so you could achieve the best as per their thinking. They probably dig deep into their pockets to see you through your college education.

You are definitely majoring in Law. A sum of half a million or thereabouts. Not everyone’s parents can afford such a system. You were brought up a bright ass so you don’t have to necessarily burn the infamous midnight oil to pass your exams. School is just fine,you are coping just right. You are the social type so you get along with most people.

You aren’t a heavy drunkard either, a bottle or two of beer is just enough to quench your alcoholic thirst. You have a beautiful lass who you thank heavens for.  She is the lioness, the only one for that matter. Your folks send you enough coins for your weekly upkeep. Part of it goes into wooing your damsel. The first Valentine together saw you grace a high end hotel in Westlands. You had surprised her to a chauffeured drive. Of all you could remember is the artistic band that played the evening away, then deep into the night you went home, to your rented apartment courtesy of your hardworking folks. Changed into clubbing regalia and got uber chauffeured to Club 1824 Langata. And it is at this place that your ‘other aspiration’ gets a nod. How you have loved music.

The DJ of the night is an experienced fellow. You are lost in his mixes. Your lass is by you, twerking her derriere dry. In another life, you would only want to be a DJ. Defending criminals, pastors and human activists hasn’t ever been your thing and since time waits for no man, you resolve to pursue your passion. Most probably you broke up with this beautiful damsel when you stopped attending your lectures in the name of in-house mixes. Your world is slowly caving inwards,your friend zone is getting smaller, you are in your own world. Then you do the most awkward thing, you let your folks know of this little wonder that makes you so happy you shed a tear the first time you got a gig. And that confession brought an end to almost all the luxuries you got from your folks. You have your own back.

Last week on Tuesday a long time fellow reached me via Messenger-he was on his way to Thika for an interview at a local club, Club Lii. It’s a new club within Thika’s CBD. The decor there is top notch. They main DJ was interviewing interested applicants. Each day has its own DJ except Wednesday and Friday night when the resident DJ takes stage. So my Ninja gets to town and I direct him to my pad which coincidentally lies on the opposite side of the said Club. He finds me into my second double of a cheap whiskey. The times haven’t been good with the Hunter.

I do what I could do to offer support-I go with him to the Club. A really nice place. It exemplifies sophistication and class. I order a cold beer as he’s welcomed to the DJ docket. I am amazed by his disk jockey skills. In fact, I am carried away. I can’t help but smile. Maybe it’s the whiskey and the beer but his well articulated spins impresses even the other revellers. An arrow hunter behind decks doing what he loves best.

Meet this guy who defied all odds to pursue deejaying as a full time profession. He had to drop out of campus. A couple ups and downs but he’s still going strong. The commerce classes weren’t his cup of tea contrary to her parents expectations. They definitely stopped showing support when it came to their realization that their son chose the least expected sector. His devout  Christian parents who like many other African parents, were shocked and felt that other forces are fighting them undercover. Despite everyone else’s opinions, my Ninja is truly unapologetic and in words of Conor McGregor after knocking out Alvarez, “I would like to apologize to absolutely nobody!”

I am slowly getting tipsy, I have to leave before I start making passes at the huge accented waiters. He promises to communicate the outcome at the end of the interview. I wish him well and stagger to my pad which is an earshot away. His arrow is that turntable that he communicates to. No amount of money exceeds passion, truly.

***********

The blog is still undergoing a facelift courtesy of Agin’s Codes And Keys. It looks much better today. Plus I travelled upcountry to catch up with the village politics. To my Kikuyu friends who think we go to the lake and find loads of fish smiling at us and ultimately pick them to our stores for salting, I won’t be carrying any fish. I can buy you one at City Market, it is much cheaper there!

7 thoughts on “THE ARROW HUNTER

  1. Am your number one fan.I really respect men who can write good English and speak it as well as you do.Good read I must say.Your vocabularies sent me to my Oxford dictionary a few times hehe.
    About the Kikuyu friends and fish , I couldn’t agree any further

    Like

Leave a comment